2008, The Year That Was

How time flies! I still can’t believe today is the last day of 2008! It was as if I just had the salmon muffin at Coffee bean at One U yesterday!

2008 was quite an eventful year, even if I do sometimes feel the same things keep repeating themselves. Most of the repetitive things are good, so I am not complaining.

2008 is definitely a year of change. For a start, the nation was in shock on March 8 on the outcome of the election. People from all walks of life rejoiced in miracle of humbling the ruling party by denying them 2/3 majority. However, as of today, after 9 months later, you still see squabbles on the main stream media. For all you know, it’s all bullshit. That is why it has been more than a year since the last time I bought newspapers. Let’s hope that things would get better and those people would concentrate on the economy and needs of the people and not, who should rule the country.

The year started with a bang, going on road trips with the best of friends. Then throughout the year, I went on a number of trips both overseas and locals. Well, I am still missing Melbourne for its laid backness and awe stuck beautiful scenery. If God is willing, I have no qualms to visit this place again!

I learned to cook a few dishes and was pleasantly surprised that I actually have flair in cooking. Hehe! Tak tau malu! Just last week, my colleagues asked my mom to make her signature chili dip to go with the BBQ. Since mom was away, my sis and I were put to be in charge of the chili dip. I am glad that colleagues liked it. They even say, the dip we made is so much better compare to the famous chicken rice seller’s in Selayang. Don’t know how true that is! But flattery will get you everywhere.. so I guess in more BBQs to come, probably I would be entrusted to make this signature dip for them.

I find that, I don’t have to waste my time on friends who don’t appreciate friendship or an honest opinion.

What I read on “The Last Lecture” by Randy Pausch rings true. “When you’re screwing up and nobody says anything to you anymore, that means they’ve given up on you. When you see yourself doing something badly and nobody’s bothering to tell you anymore, that’s a bad place to be. You may not want to hear it, but your critics are often the ones telling you they still love and care for you, and want to make you better.”

So… if I tend to be too naggy at times (Sorry, can’t help it! It’s genetic!), please forgive me, and what the late Mr Pausch (God bless his soul) say is true…I still love and care for you and want to make you better.

Well, tonight, I would be in the company of a few very good people, toasting to the new year. Here, I wish you a very Happy new Year 2009. Hope that this coming year’s economy would not be too hard on you and hope the political parties could just snap out from their childish squabbles to actually pay attention to the country’s needs.

For those who are still single and lonely, I wish you much, much love. For those who are sick, I hope you would find the perseverance and blessings to fight on. For those who lost a loved one, to remember that there are still people around you who love you just the same if not more. For those who are downright broke, I can’t help you because I don’t print money! LOL! Time to get your priorities right and maybe, a good financial planning?

Again, Happy New Year 2009!

11 Responses to “2008, The Year That Was”

  1. Ann Says:

    Happy New Year to you Gina. May God bless you in every way.

  2. Life for Beginners Says:

    “When you’re screwing up and nobody says anything to you anymore, that means they’ve given up on you. When you see yourself doing something badly and nobody’s bothering to tell you anymore, that’s a bad place to be. You may not want to hear it, but your critics are often the ones telling you they still love and care for you, and want to make you better.”

    Agreed, but more so we have to listen to OURSELVES. Not the self-pitying bits but the honest gut-feeling instinctive bits. :)

    We will sway ourselves wrong.

    Oh yes, HAPPY 2009! Less than 24hrs away now… :D

  3. shorthorse Says:

    Happy & Healthy 2009 to you dear Gina…… keep up the good work entertaining us with your tales of good food & good life!!!!! Feeling nostalgic about saying goodbye to the year 2008 … it was a very good year …. but let’s pray for a GREAT 2009!!!!! You take care & enjoy your countdown tonight my friend!

  4. Gina Says:

    Ann: You too. Hope that you have a good one. :D

    Kenny: Mana lepak malam ni? :D

    shorthorse
    : You talk about good food, now I have sudden cravings for assam fish pulak… haha! I can see it’s a good year for you – a lot of activities and meeting new friends. You too! Enjoy your night tonight.. pergi mane ya?

  5. Ponytail Says:

    Happy New Year! I wish you many good blessings in 2009 – health, wealth, love, joy and happiness follows you wherever you are :)

    Happy counting down tonite. I will be staying up late too to usher in 2009 with a sleepy toddler. She will be exactly 2 by then and wish me luck for the terrible 2′s year…uuu hu hu hu :P

  6. lingzie Says:

    happy new year gina!! i think i’ve been reading your blog for a year now :) how time flies!!

    wishing you much happiness, love, good health and wealth! here’s to more travels and more good food!

  7. zewt Says:

    i am looking forward to melb… hope it’s as good as you described it to be….

    happy new year.

  8. laymank Says:

    Happy New Year, Gina!

  9. Tony Says:

    Happy New Year to you and may 2009 bring you and your loved ones joy, happiness, success and good health.

  10. Gina Says:

    Dear Pony, Lingzie, Zewt, laymank, Tony: Thanks! Have a blessed new year.

    Zewt: I hope you enjoy your Melbourne trip as much as I did. :D

  11. ml Says:

    happy new year! we definitely need a new year which brings more hope.

Kasi Feedback Lah!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers