House Arrest

I self imposed a house arrest since last Friday. I don’t know why but I am just too lazy to go anywhere. I thought of going for some last minute shopping or maybe, just go get some toiletries as the ones at home are finishing soon but I just don’t have the mood.

I have been watching tv, stuff my face silly with cookies, mopping around the house (yes, as in sweeping and mopping and not merely lazying at home) and sleep. And I slept at all the wrong time. I slept in the afternoon for hours as soon as I finished lunch and I only slept at 3 to 5 in the morning. I found it hard to get up to get to work this morning. Thank goodness the office is quite empty. Nobody would notice I snored in my cubicle anyway.

I think from next year onwards, by hook or by crook, I will go back to Taiping – or like a friend said, just follow the tukang masak (my mom) wherever she goes on festive season.. or else, I would go hungry. Never before I ate roti canais for CNY! Haha! Very pathetic indeed! Somehow, I self invented a dish of risotto from left over rice on Monday night. Just two eggs, tomato sauce and fragrant rice. Too bad there is no cheese in the fridge! Simple dish can be delicious!

On why didn’t I follow the family back to Taiping – very inane story. At first everybody decided not to go and stay put in KL for the celebration but change their minds last minute. So now, everybody is in Taiping except for me, sister and the Mechanic. I didn’t apply for leave and I have an audit next Monday, so I had to work.

On Monday night, I was shocked when a man turned up at my gate while my dad was preparing to get out from the house to ta pao something to eat. He said something to my dad while I looked on from inside the house. I asked my dad to ignore him. Being old and feeble, I was kinda worried that he might lost his balance or something while holding bicycle and locking the gate. I prayed hard that this man did not mean any harm.

Then my dad went on his way, the man shouted at me and asked if he could come in. Crazy! I ignored him, locked all doors and went inside the house. I went upstairs to have a peek at him from the balcony. There, I saw him walking towards another two men waiting opposite my house and talking to them while looking back at my house. According to dad, the man wanted to come in to my house for a “drink” and he was reeking with alcohol smell!

You cannot blame me for worrying because there was a case along the road, in front of my house where a housewife was attacked by man wielding parang and her son was knocked on the head with a spanar. The man made away with RM5,000 (according to Chinese newspapers last week) and the housewife was hospitalized with both hands injured, probably impossible to get back to work because she is a clerk and she needed her fingers to type.

Before the Chinese new Year, my colleague also told me that, just a few houses away from where she stays, a man also walked towards a neighbor while she was parking and robbed her of her bag. She was about to let go her bag to the snatch thief, but the thief slashed her arms and her hands. She needed 12 stitches on her right hand. A call to the police was ignored. The police even hang up on my colleague’s mom when she called to make a report. The man then walked towards two waiting motorcycles with 3 other accomplices and successfully got away.

So I guess, worrying about safety is one of the big reason why I self imposed a house arrest on myself. (Apart from being very lazy to even take a bath, then dress up, take the car keys and drive out –damn.. I am sooo.. sooo damn lazy).

Also on the first day of CNY, did anyone of you catch the sun eclipse? According to Joey Yap and a lot of websites, it’s very bad luck to look at the solar eclipse.. any eclipses for that matter.. is not advisable. So I practically hibernated (actually slept like a pig) in my “bomb shelter” (my very dark room with a lot of antiques furniture) till 8 pm. Some websites even predicted earthquakes. There were two in Indonesia this morning. There will be some 6 eclipses this year, so people, stay out from the sun.

9 Responses to “House Arrest”

  1. Vin Nee Says:

    Heehe, same here….. at least u still got a blog to write and replies comments. So, u can call me next year if u r not going back to Taiping ;P

  2. laymank Says:

    should have invite all your local friends to go over and ‘pok sat’ ma!

  3. Gina Says:

    Vin nee: I said liao.. I will follow wherever the tukang masak goes.. next year if tukang masak is in KL, I will be in KL lah. Haha! Gong xi fa cai ya!

    laymank: I also dunno where I put my phone the entire 5 days vegetating at home. Haha! This Sunday can pok sat! :)

  4. lingzie Says:

    my first 2 days of CNY were spent eating, watching movies in the cinema, visiting some relatives and mostly staying at home and sleeping!!
    when the lunar eclipse happened, i was at my uncle’s house watching tv. :P

    on the safety note, my aunt just told me 2 ‘near miss’ stories (being tailed by 20 motorbikes ard midnite, and also being approached by 2 guys as they were getting into the car) that happened close to the area where i’m staying. so its very worrying indeed. i just pray that all my family members and friends stay safe and do not fall victim to these crimes.

  5. Gina Says:

    lingzie: Sigh… have to be careful wherever you are. It’s a solar eclipse lah.. not lunar. haha. :D

  6. asstha Says:

    huh? eclipse? wat eclipse? wer? wen? how? whaaa…
    :lol: i was sleeping like a pig too most of the hols… still am in fact cos i took 3 days leave… using dem leave to sleep at home… and putting on weight like nobody’s business… kwakwakwa…

    happie CNY (forgot 2 wish u in my earlier comment… hungry for bento… all cheesie’s fault)

  7. Gina Says:

    asstha: Good thing you sleep in lah.. same here.. my gawd.. I can’t believe I slept so much yet feeling too tired! Happy CNY to you too! I belum makan breakfast.. now I am thinking of bento set.. all becoz of you! LOL

  8. zing Says:

    Eclipse is bad? Have you been watching to many “Heroes” episodes? :P

  9. Gina Says:

    zing: Not really lah.. I just attended Joey Yap’s feng shui talk. Haha!

Kasi Feedback Lah!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers