One Lost Star

2009 is indeed not a celebrity-friendly year! After Michael Jackson’s and Farrah Fawcett’s passing, I thought the worst is over. This is far worse. The world has lost another star today. Yasmin Ahmad.

A sense of curiosity was how I got to know about Yasmin Ahmad’s work. After a big hoo hah over censorship and such, I decided to watch the most controversial Malaysian made movie, “Sepet“. There was no turning back ever since. I watched almost every movie that Kak Yasmin directed and never fail to fall in love again and again with the characters and also, the stories portrayed. Her work was always simplistic and yet, carried such deep and profound messages within.

I enjoyed listening to a friend in Melbourne talked about the conversations he had with Kak Yasmin whenever the latter was visiting Melbourne. I did not have the chance to meet her personally but I believe that she had touched many people in her life with her work, her life story and above all, her kind and pure heart.

You will be greatly (and sadly) missed, Kak Yasmin. Al-fatihah.

Tags:

6 Responses to “One Lost Star”

  1. jasmine Says:

    thanks for letting me know. the sms was enough to jolt me awake! she was truly a brilliant director that touched many hearts…

  2. Gina Says:

    jasmine: Sorry to have sms you middle of the night, but I just can’t help it. I even dreamed of attending her funeral and cried till eyes bengkak.

  3. lingzie Says:

    i am also truly sad to hear the news. i was hoping she would recover. malaysia indeed lost a wonderful talented director.
    i loved sepet and all her ads for petronas. they never fail to get me all teary eyed.

  4. Gina Says:

    lingzie: Likewise. It’s a great loss to our nation. She’s one in a million. God bless her soul.

  5. Cee Says:

    May she rest in peace……thou she leaves us, but she’ll lived on thru her works. Rest in peace

  6. Gina Says:

    Cee: Yeah.. I was glad I caught most of her movies on the silver screen, except Mukhsin and Muallaf. But I have Mukhsin’s DVD with me.

Kasi Feedback Lah!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers