Internet is God

Over the weekend, we received a visit from our new neighbor. Mom was attending to her and they had small talks. After the chat, mom was alarmed to know that the prosperity plant in front of my house porch has potential hazardous chemical. She demanded it to be disposed instantly!

Mom: The plant has chemicals that cause cancer you know!

Me: What? How?

Mom: The aunty said, in certain days of the month, chemicals will be released from the plant and if we inhale it, we will get cancer.

Me: It has been there so many years lah! Some more people envy us for this plant because we manage to grow it like no other. It’s a symbol of prosperity!

Mom: No no.. take away and throw it! It’s poisonous!

Sis: I read it on the internet before. It’s poisonous!

Me: Really?

Mom: I also don’t know you play what internet! Things like these also you don’t know!

Me:… So if I “play” internet, then I can become doctor also lah! Can cure all kinds of disease! Can even resurrect the dead! My! I can be Jesus Christ!

*tulan*

Mom is a bit kuajiong in this matter but, then I googled up the poisonous plant. Apparently, it is only poisonous if you consume it. Afterall, who on earth would want to eat that glossy plant. It sure looks nice, but not in appetizing sort of way. Here’s the search if you want to read about it.

So people, don’t take for granted what people tells you. Take some time to do your research. Like my mom said – play internet everyday how come you don’t know! Haha!

Tags:

4 Responses to “Internet is God”

  1. Life for Beginners Says:

    Funny lah your mom…. :)

  2. Shingo T Says:

    I pray to the Internet everyday before I sleep.
    *kidding*

    Agree with ya, can’t believe everything we read these days, especially from those forwarded emails. I tend to verify from the Internet whatever news I receive, before I digest them.

Kasi Feedback Lah!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers