A Taste of Chiang Rai

I went on an impromptu outing with Tao Pok on Sunday. She said she would be dropping by Kuala Lumpur to pass some documents to a client and decided to loiter around the Curve. I wonder if she has heard of courier service before in Sg. Pelek? Lol!

Since I have not been shopping for awhile, I jumped at the opportunity to go out. After all, it was always good to make time for closest friends.

The morning started at Desa Aman Puri, Kepong. I went to this fishball shop in Desa Aman Puri along Jalan Desa 1/3 (the same row as Tak Fok Restaurant) as Ms SureWin (my only partner-in-crime in Shenzhen and suffered same agony dealing with Katak) wanted to try the fried chee cheong fun. It was quite good but the portion is kinda small. I didn’t take picture as I do not want to scare you people with the amount of food we took in the morning. The three of us had hainanese coffee and tea, one bun, taiping style chee cheong fun with sweet red sauce, fried chee cheong fun with fish paste noodles, fish ball soup, fried fish cake and a bowl of fish ball curry with tong fun! I think a picture of the hainanese coffee would suffice?

Hainanese Coffee

Anyway, as soon as we finished our meal, a quite familiar looking man walked in with his friend. I thought I have seen this familiar face before. He was none other than Mr Michael Chong. I am glad he got to spend time having leisurely breakfast on Sunday and not burdened by some morons who never learn their lessons borrowing money from loan sharks to settle their gambling debts.

Well, this post is not about this fish ball shop as I find the food is quite mediocre and way too salty for my taste. This post is about a shop opposite this fish ball shop, Chiang Rai Style Restaurant that caught my eyes while I was stuffing my face with fish balls.

We decided to return to Desa Aman Puri for dinner after a movie “Red Cliff” at Cineleisure and shopping spree at the Curve. After our late lunch at Vivo, we were actually quite full. But I am glad that we decided to try having dinner anyway to satisfy Tao Pok’s cravings for good old Chiang Rai food. In March, both Tao Pok and I were in Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai and, Thai food is such a delight that made us crave for more.

We ordered the “basic” Thai dishes from the menu – the green curry chicken, tom yum goong, stir fried pork with basil leaves and baby kailan. We asked for single portions for every dish since we were still quite full.

Stir Fried Pork with basil leaves

After waiting for awhile, the stir fried pork with basil leaves reached our table. We were very much intrigued that it came with century eggs as well! This is probably the first time I tried stir fried pork with basil leaves and century egg!

Tom Yum Goong

The tom yum goong tasted like the one we had in Chiang Rai and it’s as good as it looks. It’s not for people with low tolerance for chillies and spiciness though. I learn from Ms SureWin that, the steamed fish in hot lemon sauce is also super hot and delicious! I guess I would try that in near future.

Green Curry Chicken

This green curry chicken reminds me of the one I had in Chiang Rai. I tried green curry in many Thai restaurants here in Kuala Lumpur and actually gave up and totally avoided this dish because most of them don’t serve a tasty green curry chicken. I am glad I found it here. Nothing can come close to the one I had in Chiang Rai than this one!

Since there were three of us, the “small” servings were a bit too big for us to finish, I ended up ta-paoing most of the dishes.

I enjoy Thai food tremendously and most of the time, whenever I go out, I would pester my friends to go for Thai food. Ever since I visited Hat Yai many years ago and my tongue tasted the mother of all tom yum – the kheng som, I couldn’t find equally good tasting tom yum in Kuala Lumpur. The closest so far is probably Amarin Thai but now, I have found the best in Chiang Rai Style Restaurant and it’s much cheaper too!

One authentic thing is missing though. They don’t serve sticky glutinous rice ala Northern Thailand style, to go with the food, not that I am complaining. It’s just to note that most dishes are served with glutinous rice in Northern Thailand.

How to get there?

If you are familiar with Desa Aman Puri, the restaurant is situated just next door to the Old Town Café along Jalan Desa 1/3, the opposite row from Tak Fok Restaurant. For those who are not really familiar with Desa Aman Puri, I think you could use this map nicked from Shaolin Tiger’s blog to beef ball noodles house. I think Chiang Rai Style Restaurant is just at the row opposite of this beef ball noodle house.

Parking can be quite a hassle as there are many nice restaurants along the same stretch. Try to be there before 7 pm as the crowd would trickle just after 7 pm and you would have to wait for a while for the food to be served.

And guess how much was the bill? It totaled up to RM52 for four dishes and four drinks for three persons. Who said cheap things are no good?

I can’t wait to go to this restaurant again soon!

Chiang Rai Style Restaurant
No. 1-22A & A1, Jalan Desa 1/3,
Desa Aman Puri
51200 Kuala Lumpur
Kein Wong (M) 017-8839002 (T) 03-55692211

8 thoughts on “A Taste of Chiang Rai

  1. ~drools~ i love thai food! and sadly penang has no really good thai food to shout about…
    have no idea where desa aman puri is..time to pester my Kl friends to take me there! lol

  2. better still… come and visit me and i will get rob to cook you thai food. Free of charge… apart from the air fare of course hehe

  3. Kenny Mah: I learn a new word today… reccie? Haha!

    Lingzie: I am not sure if the thai food restaurant along Jalan Burmah is still there. It’s run by a Chinese lady who cooks authentic Thai Food. Name’s Sandy, I think. Don’t have sign board one. Her house is always open to accept visitors and guests.. you may try to look up. The lemon grass chicken is to die for!

    ml: Yeah! Super cheap for present time!

    Ann: You must come to satisfy your appetite for insatiable Thai food.

    kat: Ah??? With the money for flight tickets, probably I can have more than 100x of food in this restaurant! Rob cooks Thai food eh?? Cook some when he’s back here!

Kasi Feedback Lah!

