Love of Literature

Thanks to CC for this meme. I need a break from my routine bitching session!

Do you remember how you developed a love for reading?
I was quite a lazy child. I spent most of my time playing in the sun when I was little. I think I didn’t really read much (till much later at age 10) except memorizing Bible verses being taught in Sunday School where my mom forced every child in my family to attend to improve our English! Haha! But I remember instead of the toy section, my mom would leave me at the book section in the supermarket while she did her marketing. Yes. In those days the security was THAT great!

What are some books you read as a child?
I read mainly Malay books when I was a child and not English. My command in English was quite bad then. I love the Malay language. My mom spoiled me rotten whenever I requested to buy books from the school program at a fraction of a price. (I think it was about RM1.90 per book only!) I seized the opportunity and read every single book from Alfred Hitchcock (The Alfred Hitchcock series), Enid Blyton (Famous Five – I love Georgina!) and Franklin W. Dixon (The Hardy Boys) in Malay! My top favorite is a collection of folklores from Asean countries. I remember buying 6 books (8 short stories per book) and finished reading them in two days! Proud to say my mom’s contribution and my zealousness for the Malay language paid off when I scored distinctions in both SRP and SPM. Chewah!

What is your favourite genre?
It has to be mixture of literature, fiction, biography and comedy. I am always intrigued by how an ordinary individual can do extraordinary things. People in the likes of Mahatma Ghandi, Fidel Castro, Princess Diana, Francis Coppola, etc fascinate me. Also human struggles and sufferings of great magnitude, for instance, Dr. Haing S Ngor, in the Survival in the Killing Fields. I prefer reading Asian literature. And I am with CC. I am one of the very rare breed of people who don’t fancy reading Harry Potter and don’t give a rat ass about the big hoo hah over the book! I fell asleep even before finishing the last sentence on the first page. The movie is okay though.

Do you have a favourite novel?
If I have to choose only one, it has to be the Wind Up Bird Chronicles by Haruki Murakami. I’ve been Murakamized after that! And amongst others – A Hundred Secret Senses by Amy Tan, Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding, the Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseni, Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Eleven Minutes by Paulo Coelho, Farewell to my Concubine by Lillian Lee and Wild Swans by Jung Chang.

Where do you usually read?
When I was a child, I used to read in the toilet. Haha! Or lying on the floor in the living room with half my body tugged under the wooden couch with cushions, where the floor was cold. As I got older, when I was still taking the public transport – I read on the bus. Now, I read when I am traveling or on my bed .

When do you usually read?
Only when I am in the mood.. and usually, moments before I go to sleep.

Do you usually have more than one book you are reading at a time?
Yes…. that is a bad habit. If the book is boring, I would switch books then go back to the same book again. I would try to finish what I started. But then nowadays, my bad habits seem to get better hold of me. Sigh.

Do you read nonfiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?
I tend to get very serious and emotional when I read non fiction. Haha!

Do you buy most of the books you read, or borrow them, or check them out of the library?
I bought most of the books I own now. Most friends know I love books, so they sometimes buy for me! Yay! A friend, Kat, usually would chuck me whatever she has read to me. I don’t know why but I cannot read e-books. Prefer them in hard copies, with cover and the mildew smell of the low quality paper!

Do you keep most of the books you buy? If not, what do you do with them?
Yes. I think todate, I have about 400 books stacking at every corner of my house much to the chagrin of my aunt! I still have some of the books I read when I was a child!

If you have children, what are some of the favorite books you have shared with them? Were they some of the same ones you read as a child?
This is a bloody tricky question. For now, I would like Sasha and Lok Lok to read the Asean folklore that I loved so much. Even till today.

What are you reading now?
I am hit by the lazy bug now. So, I am reading books with lots of pictures! Haha! I recently bought a few series on history of the world in pictures. And I am also reading Paulo Coelho’s the Witch of Portobello.

Do you keep a TBR (to be read) list?
I have a list in facebook but I never follow! I read as and when I feel like reading.

What’s next?
I think I will try reading the Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie. I can’t seem to get pass the first chapter. It’s quite mind boggling. I am waiting for Khaled Hosseni’s A Thousand Splendid Suns as Christmas gift. *Hint hint*

What books would you like to reread?
When I get my Norwegian Wood (by Haruki Murakami) back from Sailor Boy, I would like to re-read that! And Love in the time of Cholera (by Gabriel Garcia Marquez).

Who are your favourite authors?
“I’ve been Murakamized” says it all! Haha! I am also a fan of Paulo Coelho (reading almost his entire collection!) and Gabriel Garcia Marquez (top favorite – Love in the Time of Cholera).

I know only a few people who read and tag Zing (fantasy!), Mr Fat Dragon (or should we call him Slim Dragon now?), Mrs Short Horse (My English Teacher!), Lil Ms Pinky and The Hermit (it’s about time for her to start blogging again!).

16 thoughts on “Love of Literature

  1. Thanks for sharing this! It’s very interesting to read.
    I’m so glad to know there’s someone else out there who doesn’t care for the harry potter series. Every time I mention this, I’m met with a big ‘how could you!’ with popping eyes. LOL

  2. Lil Ms Pinky: Knock yourself out! :D

    Kenny: Yeah. And, do you remember in those days in yesteryears on how you pen letters in ink and paper, sprinkle some of your mom’s perfume or dad’s cologne and sent to the one that you love? Old fashioned love letters… I like. :D

    Shorthorse: FD and you have a fan here! Me! :D

    cc: Thanks to YOU for sharing! :D Hi-5 to non-Harry-Potter-reader!

  3. Thanks for the tag dear. I haven’t been blogging for such long time. Sudah karat already. Need to oil it a bit first. I am lost for words. But I am really interested in this meme.

    Shall try to post soon.

  4. Jazmyn: Really ah?? Should I send you my address? Haha! :D

    Kleio: Yes.. hoping to read from you soon! Eh.. no such thing as karat.. once a blogger, always a blogger!

  5. ‘A thousand splendid suns’ is a terrible book – don’t waste your time. Trust me.

    ‘The Chemist’ – that’s a book to read.

Kasi Feedback Lah!

