Reading List

I know I’ve been rather slacking in reading these days. Gone are the days where I could finish a book in a week or two consecutively! Anyway, I did try my best to get my momentum back the past couple of months and glad that I managed to finish a few books. These are some books that a friend recommended me to read and I wish to do the same for you guys as well. Well, this is not exactly a review lah, just some short notes on what I think of the books because I am not “academic” enough to write a review!

What Your Teacher Didn’t Tell You by Farish A. Noor

With the current spate of high dramas (not to mention sickening!!) in politics, one couldn’t help but to feel utterly hopeless for the country. Reading this book is an eye opener. It sort of gives you a glimmer of hope. It displays much wayward forward thinking than you could ever imagine! I wish that those idiots who think this country belongs to them solely should at least read this book to at least know some history (the second part of Hikayat Hang Tuah seems real to me despite presence of magic and mysteries!) This book intellectually dissects and analyzes history thoroughly leaving no stone unturned and the consequences when history is wrongly twisted to suit malicious agendas. With great power comes great responsibility? There’s also a gay issue in the book which was wittily written. It’s more than 18PL if it’s being made into a movie!

Farish A. Noor blogs on this site.

Yasmin Ahmad’s Films by Amir Muhammad

As I am writing this, I am in the midst of finishing the book. Amir shared his views and feedback on Yasmin Ahmad’s movies and advertisements. For those who watched Yasmin Ahmad’s films and enjoyed them, this is the book for you. My favorite Yasmin’s movie is Sepet. That was the first movie I watched and I am a fan ever since. I have watched all her movies except for Rabun. After I read about Rabun, I wept at the end of the chapter. The book explains in minute details of scenes in the movies. I don’t know about you but I think I would have missed out some of the special moments if I were to watch the movies with only my eyes and not my heart. This book stirs emotions in your soul. What I like most in this book is probably the short notes on some words accompanying the review. They tickle your bones with irony!

Amir Muhammad blogs here and he wrote hilariously funny short stories in the city of shared stories under the initial AM.

The Law of Attraction by Michael J. Losier

I am not a fan of self help book but this one seems okay. It tells you the importance of positive thinking (Yes.. some people needs constant reminder to remain positive!) and has a guide for you to follow in order to reach your goal. I am generally a happy person, but I guess I need some booster to be even being happier! We only live once! So make sure we live to the fullest!

Did you notice that the author’s surname is only one alphabet away from being read as loser. Haha!

10 thoughts on “Reading List

  1. hhahahahaha on that last comment (abt the author’s name!)
    i’ve read the book but that thought didnt occur to me! lol

    i’ve been wanting to read Yasmin Ahmad’s films… should get my hands on it soon.

    am currently reading the Lovely Bones. (very sloooowwly)

  2. lingzie: Haha! Yeah.. unfortunately, that was the first thing I saw when I got the book.

    OH! I also wanted to get the book, “Lovely Bones”. I guess I’ll go book shopping this weekend since I got Rm100 voucher from friends for my bday. :D

  3. what’s the witty gay part? also, isn’t the book sort of a historical political book? why would it be more than 18PL if turned into a movie?!!

  4. hcpen: Yes, it’s history of politics, written in an articulate and wayward manner.. and it’s for you to read and find out on the gay part. :D

  5. Hey… you’re back into reading? Have you read William Boyd’s books…. Try Good Man from Africa, The Ice Cream War….. Filled with irony & damned hillarious! You’ll like it!

  6. shorthorse: Yes! I have his books! In fact, I bought them many years ago during a sale and haven’t found time to read them just yet! I have A Good Man in Africa, Brazzaville Beach, Armadillo, Restless, The New Confessions.. I got them real cheap in mph sale many years back @ Rm7 per paperback! I am reading “the Gargoyle” now. It’s quite an intriguing read!

  7. Wow, what a steal RM7/ paperback…… hmmm The Gargoyle…. sounds gothic… hee hee hee…. Oh… plodding thru Armadillo right now…. not so good though, so you can leave it to gather some more cob webs if you like…. :)

  8. shorthorse: Guess I cannot read the book when I am bored.. haaha! Yes.. the Gargoyle is definitely an intriguing read. It’s gothic, creative twist of words, it has rhythm and pace that made you couldn’t put the book down.. guess going to finish it over this weekend.

Kasi Feedback Lah!

