100 Titles

I’ve been struggling to get my momentum back into reading for the past few months, glad to say that I’ve managed to read 3 books in a month!  This year alone, I’ve read 6 books. *A pat on my back* I’ve made it a habit to read at least 3 pages per night before I go to sleep. If the book is too good, I would end up reading a few chapters instead. So if you see me “fishing” in the office, you know that I’ve been reading a good book the night before.

So, what have I been reading? I just finished the Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri. In fact, I read her first book – the Interpretation of Maladies many years back. Then, I watched the movie “the Namesake” which is based on her second book. Quite a prolific writer, if you ask me. She made ordinary lives of the Indian immigrants to the US/UK seemed extraordinary. I have this habit of reading books by the same author. Once I like the way the writer wrote or narrated, I would devour everything from the same writer. That is why I’ve finished almost every book from Haruki Murakami, Amy Tan, Paulo Coelho and Gabriel Marquez.

I’ve just finished a first novel, The Outcast by Sadie Jones – easy read. I finished it within a week, even before the new smell of the book dissipated into the air. And now, I am reading the Winner Stands Alone by Paulo Coelho.

A friend shared with me 100 titles of books recommended to be read by the BBC. A quick check on the internet, this list was compiled back in 2003. I guess after 7 years, there are many other great books that BBC might overlook. Anyway, here are the 100 titles – so what have you read so far? Watching movies don’t count! I’ve read the ones highlighted in red. For the record – I cannot read fantasy book. I fell asleep reading the first page of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone . It’s so damn boring. And I don’t read chic lits too. Sorry.. just not my cup of tea.

1. 1984, George Orwell
2. A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens
3. A Prayer For Owen Meany, John Irving
4. A Tale of Two Cities, Charles Dickens
5. A Town Like Alice, Nevil Shute
6. Adventures Of Huckleberry Finn, Mark Twain
7. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, Lewis Carroll
8. Animal Farm, George Orwell
9. Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy
10. Artemis Fowl, Eoin Colfer
11. Black Beauty, Anna Sewell
12. Brave New World, Aldous Huxley
13. Brideshead Revisited, Evelyn Waugh
14. Bridget Jones’s Diary, Helen Fielding
15. Captain Corelli’s Mandolin, Louis de Bernieres
16. Charlie And The Chocolate Factory, Roald Dahl
17. Crime and Punishment, Fyodor Dostoevsky
18. David Copperfield, Charles Dickens
19. Don Quixote, Miguel De Cervantes
20. Dracula, Bram Stoker
21. Dubliners, James Joyce
22. Emma, Jane Austen
23. Eugenie Grandet, Honore de Balzac
24. Frankenstein, Mary Shelley
25. Gone with the Wind, Margaret Mitchell
26. Good Omens, Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
27. Goodnight Mister Tom, Michelle Magorian
28. Great Expectations, Charles Dickens
29. Grimm’s Fairy Stories, The Grimm Brothers
30. Gulliver’s Travels, Jonathan Swift
31. Heidi, Johanna Spyri
32. Holes, Louis Sachar
33. Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
34. Kane And Abel, Jeffrey Archer
35. Les Miserables, Victor Hugo
36. Little Women, Louisa May Alcott
37. Lord Of The Flies, William Golding
38. Love In The Time Of Cholera, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
39. Madame Bovary, Gustave Flaubert
40. Memoirs Of A Geisha, Arthur Golden
41. Memoirs of Fanny Hill, John Cleland
42. Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
43. Metamorphosis, Franz Kafka
44. Middlemarch, George Eliot
45. Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie
46. Moby Dick, Herman Melville
47. Northanger Abbey, Jane Austen
48. Nostromo, Joseph Conrad
49. Notes from the Underground, Fyodor Dostoevsky
50. Of Mice And Men, John Steinbeck
51. Oliver Twist, Charles Dickens
52. One Hundred Years Of Solitude, Gabriel Garcia Marquez
53. Paradise Lost, John Milton
54. Persuasion, Jane Austen
55. Pinocchio, Carlo Collodi
56. Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen
57. Rebecca, Daphne du Maurier
58. Siddhartha, Hermann Hesse
59. Tales of Terror and Mystery, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
60. Tess of the d’Urbervilles, Thomas Hardy
61. The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, Mark Twain
62. The Call of the Wild, Jack London
63. The Catcher in the Rye, J.D. Salinger
64. The Colour Of Magic, Terry Pratchett
65. The Count of Monte Cristo, Alexandre Dumas, père
66. The Da Vinci Code, Dan Brown
67. The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
68. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Douglas Adams
69. The Jungle Book, Rudyard Kipling
70. The Jungle, Upton Sinclair
71. The Last of the Mohicans, James Fenimore Cooper
72. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, Washington Irving
73. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, CS Lewis
74. The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien
75. The Lost World, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
76. The Moonstone, Wilkie Collins
77. The Phantom of the Opera, Gaston Leroux
78. The Picture of Dorian Gray, Oscar Wilde
79. The Pilgrim’s Progress, John Bunyan
80. The Pillars Of The Earth, Ken Follett
81. The Provost, John Galt
82. The Ragged Trousered Philanthropists, Robert Tressell
83. The Return of Sherlock Holmes, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
84. The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne
85. The Stand, Stephen King
86. The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Robert Louis Stevenson
87. The Thirty-Nine Steps, John Buchan
88. The Thorn Birds, Colleen McCollough
89. The Turn of the Screw, Henry James
90. The War of the Worlds, H. G. Wells
91. The Wind in the Willows, Kenneth Grahame
92. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, L. Frank Baum
93. To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee
94. Treasure Island, Robert Louis Stevenson
95. Twenty Thousand Leagues under the Sea, Jules Verne
96. Ulysses, James Joyce
97. Vanity Fair, William Makepeace Thackeray
98. War and Peace, Leo Tolstoy
99. Watership Down, Richard Adams
100. Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte

Only 19/100? Damn sad. Haha! How did you score?

20 thoughts on “100 Titles

  1. jasmine: The first list, which I listed earlier included the Princess Diaries – which I was rather apprehensive.. then I did another search.. Harry Potter is not even in the list! Haha!

  2. Wow! Good job Gina!

    I am having difficulties doing reading these days, not sure why. Maybe the books aren’t interesting enough or maybe I’m just not in the mood just yet.

    I’m trying to read those by Dan Brown. Also waiting for me is “the girl with a dragon tattoo”. I was told it was really good.

  3. ai shiang: Thanks! Yeah. I think we need to have mood in order to read.. now since I’ve cultivated some mood.. better get going and don’t stop!

    Ya. I heard of the Girl with a Dragon Tattoo, too. Da Vincci Code – A friend bought me this book when she found out I haven’t read it! I read it half way already.. then cannot continue. But I think it’s more interesting than the movie. Hehe. I prefer to read novel – like tragedy, human survival instincts, twisted love stories (haha!), something that could stir the mind and emotion.

  4. i’ve read about 45 of the titles but some of them plain suck to me like Moby Dick – to me the most boring book ever.

    i love murakami too, slowly finsihing up all his book.

    i like kazuo ishiguro as well :)

  5. Gina this list really sucks… (no offence to u)… BBC could really do better than to put up a list where 50% of it are mere classics and for the life of me I can’t remember which I’ve read n which I hvn’t cos most of the listed uns hv been churned out in movies so imagine d confusion… They should really update this man…

    There’s are books out there that are far superior to the classics (no offence there again) but I got really bored reading classics… it’s d same old thing over and over again… romance, tradegy, poverty… blablabla… and I feel they’re more for entertainment sake… but the books that evoke your thought and senses and makes you question the very essense of your being are by far the best… my two cents… :p

  6. Lisa: Wah! So many! Haha! I think I remember some of the classics that I read, some I don’t. Yes.. Murakami’s really good! I can’t wait for his next book! Finished everything except “Hardboiled Wonderland and the End of the World”. A Wild Sheep Chase is also a bit mind boggling… read it slowly.. the good stories will end.. before you know it.

    asstha: The list is by BBC lah. So no offense taken! I think they are in the list because, seriously, I think all books started from the era.. I called it, the Era of Enlightenment. I guess I will come up with my own list – 100 books that I’ve read! Dunno got that many or not.. haha!

    takeshi: Yeah yeah yeah.. intellectuals read books like George Bawa’s. This list is just a very small feat… also I tak kesampaian..

  7. Hehe the version I remember has lord of the rings as no 1! Read about 30 but can’t remember most of the classics I read. I’ll recommend pillars of the earth #80. a very very good book. Prolly not quite your type but one of my best read for the past few years :)

  8. Kat: Yeah.. I think I saw that one too, and with series of Harry Potter in it.. together with the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.. but then, I don’t think Harry Potter should be in the list also lah. Haha. I have yet to start reading “the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”.

  9. I’m like u ….. can’t read fantasy books…. find it too tiresome to imagine what’s written …. so Lord of the Rings is out for me… ;)

  10. Do Gina oh DO!!!… den imma come up wit dat too.. altho i think already surpassed it… but some of d titles I hv forgotten cept for those I really enjoy… :P

    Just finished reading Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman last month… more on Fantasy n stuff but was interesting nonetheless… sometimes when I need a breather from everyday life and normalcy I’d read books liddis… now reading Hounted Ground by Erin Hart… not sure if it’s any good yet… after that imma gonna start d one u recommended, Gargoyles… :)

  11. yours considered really good… glancing thru the list… whatever I have read… zero on this list! elek pu chi….

  12. zing: Consider lah.. who will read the full versions anyway? Haha! Yes.. I know if the list is full with Sci-Fi, you probably read 50%.

    asstha: Haha! Really? I have problem coming up with 100 titles.. coz some of them, I read half way. Can consider or not? Haha. I will list in my coming post. :D

    Rose: Hahahah!!!!! So what does it say? You have to start reading lah. You can start with Bridget Jones’ Diary. Not too difficult to read and highly entertaining!

Kasi Feedback Lah!

