Out of Control

I was just tagged on FB by my cousin brother in an unpleasant news. Our cousin sister, an insurance agent was driving and stopped at a traffic light near Selayang and her window got smashed.

Out of panic, she tried to jump out from her car. She didn’t set her gear to P or N but, it was on D. So the car moved further front with her dangling outside the driver’s seat because she forgotten she was wearing a seat belt. Lucky for her, the car in front inched forward and she managed to get back up in time to stop her car before it bang the car in front of her!

If you ask me, it’s really ridiculous. Her own panic reaction almost cost her life. Imagine if she was dangling and a motorbike happened to pass by on the other side? I got really angry whenever people don’t listen to me and put their handbags on the passenger’s seat. She’s one of them!

The thing now is, why should I be angry at where she put her bags? Now, instead of blaming the cops for NOT doing their job to protect the public, we put a blame on victims of crimes. Why you put your bag on the passenger’s seat? Serve you right! Who ask you to flash your wealth? Serve you right? Who ask you to wear so sexy? Serve you right!

It’s getting rather absurd that we couldn’t even walk out from the house, wearing what we want and even in our car, we must all hide our bags under our car seat or there were even moronic suggestions NOT to carry “branded” bags out because the criminals are out there to get you.

If the authorities are doing the job without us telling them how to, it would save us a lot of trouble. If they had put in place the resources to combat crime, doing preventive measures, stop snooping around politicians, I think all such crimes would be long minimized and deterred.

Instead of almost every week, we heard of horror stories of crimes.. now it’s happening around the clock.. almost every few hours. Worse still, the consistencies of the crimes happening to people WE KNOW are alarming. We used to hear from this friend’s friend’s friend.. but now it’s directly happening to people we all know. And for me, I had been a victim myself right behind my house!

Till today – already 2 freaking years, my robbery case was not solved, despite giving them some leads. I told them, the criminals transferred credit from my prepaid phone to their prepaid phones..even printed them the time of the incident, so why is it SO DIFFICULT to even write to the bloody telecommunication company to retrieve the phone numbers and investigate?? FUCKING imbeciles!!

I’ve become highly phobic of going out at night. I tried to minimize my socializing. I rather stay home or only going out when being accompanied by my friends or family. When I go out now, I always place my IC/driving license, credit cards in my pocket together with my phone. Sometimes, I unload everything into the dashboard of my car – my purse, camera, tablet, etc. Sometimes I forgot to take them down with me, so I had to walk back to the carpark to get them! It has somehow become my habit to ensure everything is well hidden in my car before I leave my house.

It is really pathetic to be living like this, in constant fear. I have NO confidence in the authorities who have FIDUCIARY duty to take care of the safety and peace of the public. We somehow have to protect ourselves now because the authorities continue to FAIL us.

2 thoughts on “Out of Control

  1. I learnt a new word from you today ‘ FIDUCIARY’ duty….good one :)

    Thankfully your cousin came out if this incidence free of injuries… But yeah, you’re right…. Our sense of security and peace of mind has been shattered by all these unpleasant pieces of news… I feel really angry with the Gomen especially when they say that increased crime is a PERCEPTION …. F %#^ them!

  2. Yes.. now you see, they keep quiet liao. Now, we are in top 10 most dangerous cities in the world – KL. Sigh. I think everywhere is the same around Malaysia, not only KL.

Kasi Feedback Lah!

